Hi Hong Kong

January 22, 2017

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope you are well. I arrived in Hong Kong yesterday not to survey but to work out of the company’s Hong Kong office. It’s very exciting. The flight was direct and surprisingly easy. I sat next to a Vietnamese couple with an 8 months old baby Alice that threw up on me a little bit before we took off, but was a good sport otherwise. She didn’t cry at all and seemed to like me. I got to hold her a little. I was in a window seat in the front row of the section and even slept!. I didn’t watch any movies. Instead I read a bit and watched most of the first season of HBO’s “Ballers” which has been showing up on all the airline media sections this winter and is pretty entertaining.

wp_20170121_006

Yesterday was about agressively trying to beat jet lag and enjoying a new place. It involved walking around the piers area, dim sum brunch, and a walk up to the Peak and through the botanical gardens. I started tripping over my own toes, something that happens from time to time to indicate exhaustion even if I think everything is okay. After that I checked into the hotel and took a shower and a little nap and an alarm for 7 so I could have dinner and not be really screwed with waking up at 3am. It was a struggle to get up. But then I had a great cocktail with blueberry jam in it at a creative cocktail bar and then more dim sum. Then I did foot reflexology and believe I also fell asleep during that.

wp_20170121_050

Today I took the metro, which is great, and did the Dragon’s Back hike on the other side of Hong Kong island, then went to Din Tai Fung for lunch but got spicy wontons instead of the traditional xiao long bao. Then a little shopping around Causeway Bay area. For dinner visited a cosy French wine bar called La Cabane and had white wine and a fish dish with leeks. LOVE leeks. The guys at La Cabane were really cool and the music was also cool. They were playing a spotify playlist of summer hits from the early 2000s so maybe I’ll go back later this week. The music last night at the cocktail bar was also cool, more clubby. Trance songs I knew but different mixes. Those are always so great to hear.

wp_20170122_012

After dinner this evening I got a manicure. All ready for work tomorrow! I’m learning a lot about this major port city. I understand why my dad said it was a place he’d really like to visit, it’s very water and boats-oriented. Maybe my parents canwill sail here! Hope you have a great week.

Love, Annie

2 Responses to “Hi Hong Kong”


  1. Enjoy – I’m heading back there for my 5th visit soon, I love HK!


Leave a Reply

