Shin-Sunday and Kobe

November 20, 2016

Dear Family and Friends,

I have been thinking, maybe the emphasis on super toilets with bidets everywhere is connected to the quantity of plums Japanese people consume. Hm.

wp_20161120_16_37_15_pro

Today I woke up early, left the little guest house with the tatami mats, and took the Shinkansen to Kobe. “Shin” is in front of the name for the bullet train stations “Shin-Yokohama” “Shin-Kobe.” But you don’t have to put two in!*

The train was crowded but very easy, only 45 or so minutes ride with one stop in Osaka. I got a very involved bento box (sour plums included) at station to eat on the train for breakfast. It was satisfying but only okay tasting.

wp_20161120_16_21_30_pro

I left my luggage at the hotel and went to work. It’s sunday but I worked because I’d like to do some touristy things here like go to the onsen in the mountain hot springs and some sake breweries (there are many right in Kobe), but not on a weekend when it would be too crowded.

wp_20161120_16_28_21_pro

Work took me to Rokko Island, which had one of the weirdest vibes of a place I’ve ever visited. It was eerie, pretty open spaces yet deserted with dated architecture and of course supermarkets with imported food. The malls were only half full of stores. Apparently expatriates live here; I’ll find out more tomorrow.

wp_20161120_16_49_32_pro

I had a throbbing headache all day today and felt especially lonely on the train, but now I feel all better. I didn’t sleep well on the tatami mats and am pretty happy to be in a nice hotel for the last three days of the trip. Also I have an awesome view. I didn’t try Kobe beef yet but maybe for lunch tomorrow. Have a great Sunday!

Love, Annie

*It’s a dreidel joke.

 

One Response to “Shin-Sunday and Kobe”

  1. Ronna Says:

    Glad you are feeling better! Love you! Enjoy the hotel and the kobe beef!


Leave a Reply

