Back to South America!

December 1, 2015

Hi Family and Friends,

Hope all is well and that you had a nice Thanksgiving. Hola from Caracas, Venezuela! I left my apartment this morning at 3:10am and can’t believe it’s still the same day. The flights here were easy. I started an awesome book, All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, and nodded off a little on the planes. WP_20151201_15_22_01_ProOn the way to Miami, the woman behind me kept touching my hair and side trying to get me to … chat? Not in English. Not in Spanish. It was a little weird. The woman next to her kept telling her to stop bothering me, but she didn’t.

I met our contact Miguel here in Caracas at the airport and he took me to the hotel. After lunch I did some work and then went to the gym. WP_20151121_15_52_18_ProThen I ate dinner. So far, things have been really smooth and hopefully tomorrow I’ll  have the same luck. However, the food so far has been pretty terrible. I’m definitely still a little spoiled from the food in Argentina.

Speaking of Argentina, my last day in Buenos Aires was great. WP_20151121_18_15_51_ProI worked and then went to La Boca area for a late lunch (chorizo and salad), and then walked around Puerto Madero and the downtown area. I ate some gelato half maracuja and half marzipan with red fruits. mmmmm. I went to my favorite wine bar to drink wine and taste cheese one more time before heading to the airport. In the taxi to the way to the airport, I had a discussion with the driver about Pink Floyd. All in Spanish! Cool!!

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

