Más Argentina!

November 20, 2015

Dear Family and Friends,

This was certainly a short and sweet trip. I fly home tomorrow night and arrive in Boston Sunday afternoon. Back to the office on Monday. The following week I have an even shorter trip to Caracas so stay tuned :). Yesterday I worked all day and it rained SO HARD. WP_20151120_19_29_05_ProI spent the morning in a breakfast coffee shop. The hotel provides breakfast vouchers that work at different cafes all within three blocks of the hotel. This one is across the street from my hotel and they have a great yogurt, fruit, and granola plate. After two days of bready breakfasts at a different, yet highly recommended coffee shop that didn’t offer fruits with the voucher breakfast, I needed something fresh.

WP_20151120_18_40_17_ProTurns out, the guy who works at the yogurt and fruit coffee shop went to Colby College-seems pretty far to go for an Argentino! He is a little bit older and did not know my brother. I guess that explains the hip hop brunch-time playlist?

After working in the shop for a while, I went back to my room and made some phone calls, which was super frustrating. WP_20151119_14_08_03_ProI went to lunch at a little empanada restaurant and ate an empanada, salad, and a glass of wine. Wine because I was that frustrated with the phone calls, and because drinking helps my Spanish, and in turn, with the phone calls. It worked. At lunch I started a new book — I finished a book called The Point of Vanishing by Howard Axelrod and now I’m reading Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll. The two books are extremely different but I feel a connection with both.

In the evening, I went first to a nearby wine bar and then to Las Pizzaras restaurant to meet a friend, Kyra, who I had not seen in 12 years (!!) WP_20151120_00_49_28_ProKyra and I were roommates at a semester-school called CITYterm as juniors in high school. During this semester, New York City was our classroom. I’ve been “reading buildings” and considering the spaces in the 100+ cities I’ve visited on this job as we learned to do there. WP_20151120_00_51_58_Pro (1)It’s a great program, please let me know if you want to know more about it. Kyra is from Texas but lives here! It was SO nice to catch up. We had a decadent meal–Pizzaras is a trendy bistro in an industrialish room with high ceilings and dishes that change all the time depending on what’s fresh. They have chalkboards rather than menus as you can see. WP_20151120_17_12_02_ProWe also had two bottles of wine and an awesome time.

So this whole day I felt totally hung over until the late afternoon. But between bouts of nausea I was able to do a lot of work and then go on an awesome, exhausting walk down to Recoleta Cemetery, where a lot of people are buried, including Eva Perón. WP_20151120_17_34_05_ProAfter the cemetery I walked around Recoleta neighborhood, which is really beautiful, fancy, and fast paced, kind of reminds me of uptown Manhattan. Palermo, where i’m staying, reminds me of Boston’s South End. Buenos Aires is enormous and really interesting and I am just realizing this because I had not had time to explore yet on a long walk. I walked back to Palermo and ate at a little tapas place and sat outside. WP_20151120_18_21_53_ProA woman sitting inside told me to hook my bag over my arm, not just smush it to the side. I didn’t think it was going to be snatched since it was between me and the window, but I followed her directions. She might have thought I was an idiot, and I might have thought she was old and crabby.

I was going to go out tonight but I’m so beat. Tomorrow I’ll finish work and then I have no idea yet what I’m going to do! Maybe see the colorful buildings in Boca neighborhood. Hope you are having a nice weekend!

Love, Annie

 

Leave a Reply

