Buenas Noches, Buenos Aires

November 16, 2015

Hola Family and Friends,

Hope you are well. WP_20151116_15_02_39_ProThis is the first night of a week-long trip in Buenos Aires! It’s been a while since I slept properly so please excuse the brevity.

The flight was great. I had an excellent Cobb salad for dinner in New York-JFK before the 10 hour flight to Buenos Aires. On the plane I didn’t sleep well. The guy in front of me had the full three seats to himself. I’ve had that before. This time I did not get so lucky but that was okay. I didn’t watch any movies, I just read and zoned out. I had forgotten how dry airplanes are.

The line at immigration was long. WP_20151116_15_58_15_ProThe taxi to the hotel was also long. And it’s nice and warm here! The woman at the taxi stand seemed to like something that smelled near me and asked me what was the name of the perfume I was wearing. I made my first Spanish joke of the trip–told her it was cafe cortado. Hahahaha. I wasn’t wearing any, but was drinking a coffee.

I settled at the hotel and took a much needed shower. The hotel is great. Then took a walk around Palermo neighborhood. WP_20151116_15_49_03_ProI ate milanesa for lunch. Milanesa is meat, pounded and then fried. I remembered the alfajores, steak, and wine, but I forgot about milanesa sandwiches. Oh man. They are great. I have to watch it because last time I was in Argentina I gained 20 lbs. WP_20151116_15_59_48_ProThat was over three months AND it was 9 years ago, but still. I don’t remember the city of Buenos Aires at all.

I continued my walk and got an espresso and kept walking. I went into some stores but had to be buzzed in. I asked about this situation and apparently there are a lot of robberies. I went back to the hotel to work a bit, and then went on another walk. WP_20151116_19_08_57_ProI had a wine and cheese tasting which was fine for dinner. Then walked more and more to observe nighttime in Palermo. I had another drink outside at a different bar in a crowded spot. Lots of people out for a Monday night, more than expected broken sidewalks, lots of people buying fruit at small fruit stores, some election signs but almost all in support of Macri, fancy apartment buildings with bare lobbies, metal bars over most stores, and tons of restaurants with outdoor seating.

Tomorrow will be a full day of work!

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

