Saturday in Portland

August 16, 2015

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope you are having a nice weekend.

Yesterday was my day off in Portland. I woke up early and walked down to Pine State Biscuits restaurant, about a half hour away. The line was very long so I decided to go elsewhere. WP_20150815_10_52_54_ProI chatted with my sister on the phone and walked up SE Division street. I found a french place and ate quiche for breakfast there. After breakfast, I walked around a bit more and browsed some shops and made it back to my airbnb. I took the car and headed to the Portland Farmer’s Market at PSU. WP_20150815_13_54_22_ProThe market was really cool. I sampled all sorts of local treats, drank a big glass of kombucha, and purchased some salami.

After the farmers market, which closed at 2, I drove to Cannon Beach. The drive took an hour and a half and was beautiful, through the hilly forest. The hills go right up to the coast. I got a little frustrated at the drivers. WP_20150815_15_53_01_ProI wonder if, in Oregon driving school, they teach people that the left lane is a passing lane. The beach was beautiful and the town of Cannon Beach was very cute.

I found a good parking space and walked around the beach. I thought it was going to be too cold to swim (someone mentioned that), so I didn’t bring beach clothes or a towel. But after walking in the water for a little, I couldn’t resist. Swimming in the ocean is one of my favorite activities of all time. So I dropped my bag near a family that looked nice, and went swimming in my undergarments. WP_20150815_15_59_05_Pro I swam right next to Haystack rock. It was so refreshing. I’ve been feeling a little sad and stressed, and this was an instant fix, at least for the rest of the day.

I didn’t spend too long in the water -there’s always a risk that my bag would be stolen. I got out and found a place on the beach without too many people and “changed” in the most appropriate way I could. Then filled my water bottle and drove home. I ate beef jerkey on the ride home and listened to some good radio stations. The drive back felt much shorter than the drive to.

WP_20150816_08_44_53_ProI got home around 7:30 and headed out to dinner, this time in NW Portland at a popular restaurant, Peruvian place called Andino. I got a killer parking space right outside the restaurant and didn’t have to wait at all for a seat at the bar. The food was pretty authentic. When they brought my cebiche, I saw that it didn’t have canchitas on it, the way it is traditionally served in Peru. I told the bartender that the cebiche needed some of these little corn snacks, he brought some right over! Hooray! For dessert, I had a homemade alfajor and got to taste some boozy milkshake because the bartender made too much for someone else.

After dinner, I walked around the Pearl district for a little, and then drove back. I wanted to try this interesting Japanese and Korean bar, but it was closed, so I parked at my airbnb and walked around Belmont street for a little before heading home.

Today I ate a nice breakfast at Cricket cafe, and now am about to leave to go to California. I’ve really enjoyed Portland and home to come back.

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

