Hello Portland!

August 13, 2015

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope all is well. I woke up this morning in Calgary and did some work, then flew to Portland! WP_20150812_16_10_38_ProAt the airport and at the PDX rental car desk, there were lots of lines.

The majority of the first half of the day was spent waiting in lines. Finally I “checked into” another airbnb. This one is in a residential neighborhood called Sunnyside. WP_20150812_19_21_54_ProI’m excited to be in Portland – some of my best friends went to school here and I’ve heard quite a bit about the city.

I had an ambitious afternoon and evening. First I drove to Reed College and walked around there for a while. WP_20150812_19_56_33_ProThen I dropped my car back at “home” and went for a long walk. I visited the Cascade Brewery for the sour beers. I tasted 6 different beers. I’ll go back another time and have a full one. Then I walked to a restaurant called Pok Pok and had southeast Asian food. WP_20150812_21_31_30_ProThe wings were delicious. At Pok Pok I drank the “Pok Pok Michelada,” which was excellent. I walked back in the dark and was happy to have brought my flashlight. Now I’m exhausted. Tomorrow will be a full work day.

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

