adios carmen, hello mexico city!

February 7, 2015

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope you are having a nice weekend. After a morning at Wal Mart, my colleague and I had a nice lunch at Mosto Beer House. Such an expat bar. At this place, there was no beer list but only beer pairings with the different pizzas on the menu. We were pretty surprised that a place that calls itself a beer house would not have its own beer list, but then remembered that Ciudad del Carmen may just be full of weird menus. IMG_3124The pizzas were good and the beers were excellent. Lunch was awesome overall.

After lunch, we worked a bit more and finished the training, and then I headed to the airport for my flight to Mexico City. The flight was delayed because the airport in Mexico City was too busy, but it wasn’t so bad. The hotel here is absolutely gorgeous. I went out around 11 pm for a michelada and a snack at a bar nearby. I sat and drank my beer, people watched, and just enjoyed the atmosphere … I haven’t felt so relaxed, comfortable, and just content for a while. For a snack I ordered some tortilla soup that was SO delicious. I felt so happy. I’ve really missed the survey routine. IMG_3128A gorgeous hotel in walking distance to great bars… I feel like I’m back in action. I don’t even need to survey Mexico City! I almost wish I did.

The training was wonderful, and I loved my time with my colleague, but wow, I had forgotten how much I love exploring new places on my own. I finished my small meal with a tequila that was served with tomato juice on the side (apparently it’s called sangrita) and was invited to join the men at the table next to me. They work together at what seemed like a startup printing company, and here I am at 3 in the morning after a few more tequilas and some great conversation. The evening was awesome.

I’m looking forward to a relaxing and fun day tomorrow!

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

