Montreal!

December 4, 2014

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope you are well. I did not go out on survey for work this quarter but still traveled a little. My colleague Alex and I took a trip to Montreal the other weekend. It was really fun! We rented an Airbnb in the old part of town, the Old Port area.

IMG_0435On Friday we started off with some car issues and left a bit later than we had hoped. We stopped in Waterbury, VT for dinner at a restaurant called Prohibition Pig, which was awesome. We arrived at our apartment around 11 pm and almost immediately headed out to the bars. 20141122_150133It was really cold the first night, the kind of cold that makes your ears feel like they might snap off. At each bar, the bartenders we very nice looking. By two in the morning, the bartenders were getting so drunk and sloppy that they screwed up our drinks. We had amazing Poutine and there was dancing on the top of the bar!

20141122_172311The next day, we ate a brunch and had a walk up Mount Royal. The views were awesome and it wasn’t that cold. In the afternoon, I walked around some galleries. It started to rain, and by evening it was snowing pretty hard. We started off our evening at a fancy cigar lounge – I smoked a cigar and had a whisky flight. 20141122_180809Across the street from the cigar lounge was a ping pong bar (NOT the kind of ping pong bar they have in Thailand). We had a few whisky sours and played a few games of ping pong then foosball. I am a decent ping pong player but Alex is an incredible player so I lost.

20141122_165619 (1)After the ping pong club, we went to a bar with REALLY weird drinks called Le Lab. One of our drinks had beef jerky in it. Very innovative. After those drinks, we went out for fondue 🙂

The next morning we woke up SO late, 15 minutes before we were supposed to check out, and had to get an extension on our check-out time. eek. 20141122_150534When we walked out to the car, we saw that it was towed – we didn’t take into account the 24 hour clocks when we parked it on Friday night so the car was towed at four that morning. The pickup was surprisingly easy. We drove home and stopped in Burlington for lunch at American Flatbread. It was delicious but I was extremely tired of cheese at this point. All in all, it was an awesome weekend, and Airbnb is really easy.

Anne and BubbieOn another note:

My most devoted reader, my Bubbie, recently passed away. The picture to the left is of her and me. She really liked this blog and every post I’ve ever written has, in part, been for her. She was like a second mother to me and taught me so many life lessons. I miss her and I am excited to honor her as I use these skills and have the right attitude every day!!

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

