Santa Cruz do Sul – Survey Gem

August 8, 2014

Dear Family and Friends,

I hope you are well. Happy birthday to my Dad and Brother!  And Happy Friday. I’m heading to Curitiba this afternoon. I’ll leave Santa Cruz do Sul around midday and drive two hours to Porto Alegre where I’ll catch the flight to Curitiba. photo (1)I didn’t do too much aside from work but really enjoyed my time here in Santa Cruz do Sul. There are cobblestone streets. The weather was fantastic – crisp and cool like late September in Boston. Everyone is nice, and when you go to the coffee shop, you recognize the people in there because the city is so small and everyone goes to the same few places. photo 1I had the nicest driver yesterday. The work was really easy. On warm nights, everyone sits outside and drinks chopes (draft beers).

I’m having a hard time keeping a straight face when I get prices for car tires… because in Portuguese they are called “pneus”. You pronounce the P. Every city I have to find out about pneus in three different sizes. I’m trying to be an adult about it. I have a lot more car tires to get over the next two and a half weeks.  Last night I had a sushi rodizho – like Fogo de Chao but with sushi. Ha! On my cheque, I saw that I was charged for the rodizho feminina. They charge different prices for men and women! That’s all for now – I’m excited to keep moving.

Love, Annie

 

Leave a Reply

