Sao Paulo Saida, Hello to Santa Cruz do Sul

August 5, 2014

Oi Family and Friends,

I hope you are well. Saida means “exit”. I had a very nice experience in Sao Paulo. 20140803_141454The work was easy, the food was excellent, and I met nice people. I sat in traffic on Monday for a while, but I expected it so it wasn’t so bad. On Sunday I did a bit of work in the morning and then went to Ibirapuera park where I met up with one of my friends from Friday. We spent the afternoon walking around the park, chatting, and learning Portuguese/English, and then went to a middle eastern food restaurant and to a bar. I tried a “chope” which is the Brazilian draft beer. It was very light and easy to drink. It was an excellent day and I was so happy to have company. Yesterday (Monday) I worked all day – I had meetings starting very early in the morning, ate ceviche for lunch, and then worked in the afternoon. For dinner, I wandered around Itaim Bibi, the neighborhood in which my hotel was located, and found a kind of gastropub where I drank a nice white wine and fruit drink, had some quiche and salad, and beat a hard level of candy crush 🙂

This morning, I got up early and got my flight to Porto Alegre, and from there took a 2.5 hour taxi ride to Santa Cruz do Sul. It was a nice ride and the driver definitely appreciated the coffee I got for him. I had to tell him in Portuguese (!) that I wanted to stop at a coffee store. He didn’t speak any English at all. Estou aprendendo! Santa Cruz do Sul is an extremely pleasant small city. It’s pretty cold here and I am thankful I brought a light jacket. Today I worked all afternoon. It’s too cold for flats without socks but I have to deal with that.  The hotel is clean with nice views and a pretty decent gym! It’s in a great location. I’m about to head out to get a small dinner.

Love, Annie

One Response to “Sao Paulo Saida, Hello to Santa Cruz do Sul”

  1. Marlene clayton Says:

    Oh it was so good to hear from you and very interesting blog. Hope you had a nice dinner. Love you so much


Leave a Reply

