Day trip to Agra!

May 10, 2014

Dear Family and Friends,

Today I took a day trip to Agra to see the Taj Mahal. I woke up at 4:15 and we hit no traffic on the way. Delhi 11My driver was Pradeek, and he had one album of classical Indian music from the period of 1950-1980 that we listened to the entire time … three and a half hours each way. He didn’t speak that much english, but spoke enough to have some basic conversations. There is a new freeway that connects Delhi and Agra, it’s about two years old. The trip to Agra from Delhi used to take 6 hours. I was surprised at how nice the rest stops were on the way. Delhi 7In the first picture you can see a man making tea at the rest stop. The tea was great and the bathrooms were surprisingly clean. In the second picture, you can see the pollution on the road.

When we got to Agra, we met up with my guide, Shafali. Shafali is studying for her Masters in Industrial Chemistry, but makes money on the side as a tour guide. Delhi 4She was an awesome guide. We went to the Taj Mahal, which was even cooler than expected, and to a demonstration on how to make inlaid marble (and the connecting shop, of course) and to lunch. I had a grilled paneer and salad. After lunch we went to the Agra Fort. I guess it is very similar to the Red Fort in Delhi. By the way, carving marble feels and sounds like drilling teeth. It’s highly unpleasant.

On the way home, I wanted to get Pradeek some food, because I didn’t know if he had eaten. The hotel gave me some breakfast in a box to take on the drive and I didn’t eat some of the pastries and Pradeek ate them and also drank the juice box from the breakfast box. I don’t really drink juices. I got us some waters and for him a snack – he wanted chips but but wouldn’t eat them unless I ate some too so we shared some chips on the ride home.

I started to get a headache on the way home but I took a shower and drank some tea and am feeling a bit better. Now I am about to go to dinner inside the hotel. Tomorrow, I’ll do some work in the morning, and maybe go to Old Delhi in the afternoon.

Love, Annie

One Response to “Day trip to Agra!”

  1. Marlene clayton Says:

    Glad you had a nice day in Agra and to see another of the great wonders of the world.
    Love you


Leave a Reply

