Goodbye Kolkata

May 4, 2014

Dear Family and Friends,

I hope you are having a nice weekend. Mazel Tov to my cousin Lexi on her Bat Mitzvah! I’m sitting outside the Mumbai airport right now. photo 4I have a five hour layover here, and it’s so disgusting. It’s over half over by now. Thankfully, I’ll have only direct flights after this day until I head home in less than three weeks. I’m feeling really tired right now – It’s hard to be enthusiastic on this travel day. photo 3Travel days are hard… especially the ones that take all day. I’m sticky from sweating because it’s so hot out and am really not looking forward to going inside the terminal. I miss my family.  Yesterday, I finished my work and Pawan took me on a sightseeing tour of the city.

photo 1We went first to the Ganges river to see people bathing and purifying. Then we went around the British area and then to a Jain temple which looked like a fairytale palace.

The inside was a mosaic of mirrors. Then we went to a marble palace where an extremely rich family had lived. photo 2Inside the palace there was artwork from so many regions of the world, and gifts to this family from people who visited. For lunch we had Biryani at a restaurant called Arsalan. Everyone knows it as the best Biryani place in town. There was a line but Pawan was able to take me right in because he knows everyone.

photo-1In the afternoon, I swam, worked out, and packed up. I went back to the Chinese restaurant in part because there were no good seats at the other restaurants in the hotel. When I am eating alone (which is almost always, on survey), it’s important to have a good seat and vantage point for people watching. I had a delicious spicy fish dish. I guess I’m looking forward to Bhopal, mainly I’m looking forward to getting through it as I haven’t heard that it’s that fun a place, but I’ll let you know.

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

