Monday in Kolkata

April 28, 2014

Dear Family and Friends,

Today was my first working day in Kolkata. I spent most of the day in the mall. The taxi to the mall toolk ~45 minutes and cost less than two dollars. Some things are so inexpensive here. Kolkata 1There is a very large contrast between rich and poor here. After work I swam some laps and then had a chat with an Australian pilot from one of the major international airlines and he was such an asshole. He approached me and then almost immediately insulted my line of work and tried to intimidate me. Ugh. I left as soon as it was polite to do so even though in retrospect I didn’t need to be polite.

I had Chinese food at dinner and it wasn’t as good as GDH. Maybe it was just different. I tried Sichuan pepper flavor ice cream which was interesting. I’m really enjoying the hotel. Looking forward to work tomorrow. I wish you a nice day and a good sleep!

Love, Annie

2 Responses to “Monday in Kolkata”

  1. Marlene clayton Says:

    I think Australians in general are a little crude so don’t take it personally. Where did you have the Chineese food? Are you sick of Indian food? Have you had the Punjab spinach it’s the one dish I think is not spicy with chilis. Have a good night and hopefully will speak via email or something tomorrow. Love you🌾🌾🌾

  2. annesandwich Says:

    Hi Bubbie! I had chinese food at the hotel. Kolkata-Chinese food is a big deal because there is a community of Chinese people here who have lived here for 5+ generations so the food has become an interesting mixed cuisine. I’m not sick of the food ebcause each region has a different flavour. I know the spinach you are talking about, and really enjoy it with Paneer – hard cottage cheese that they use in vegetarian meals. I Love you!!! Talk to you soon.


Leave a Reply

