Adios Kakinada

April 25, 2014

Dear Family and Friends,

Happy Friday! I hope you are well. It’s my last night in Kakinada. I was originally supposed to spend another night here but have decided to go to Rajahmundry tomorrow and hang out there for the day and the overnight. photoToday was really boring with two good events. In the morning, I went to the Sri Baba statue and temple with Prasad, the man who drove me from Rajahmundry airport on Wednesday. That was right near to Prasad’s house, so after the temple we went to his house and I had a cup of tea and met his wife and 15 year old daughter. It was really a special thing.

In the afternoon, I went on a tour of a guest house with a logistics guy from the hotel who was working with other foreigners. We were supposed to go see another guest house, but that never happened. I guess 4:30 PM means never.

Before and after those events there was a lot of waiting around. I finished the book The Handmaid’s Tale, which was excellent (thanks Suzanne for the recommendation and thanks mom for buying the book) and started Wild by Cheryl Strayed. I’m about a third of the way through Wild already.

I wanted to point out two more things about working in Kakinada. First, I have not seen another white woman the entire time I’ve been here. There are some white men, but not women. Second, people have been taking pictures of me all over the place. Probably because it’s very rare to see someone that looks like me. Yesterday at the hotel, a little girl came up to me and then said something to her dad. The dad told me that his little girl asked him where was my chocolate and gestured to my pasty arms.

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

