Hi from New Plymouth

February 7, 2014

Dear Family and Friends,

I hope you are well. The flight over to New Plymouth was easy. The taxi driver to the Auckland Airport was from Fiji and really really talkative. The plane was small and domestic New Zealand flights involve NO security. Zero. No bag checks, no shoes off, no detectors. I couldn’t believe it. New Plymouth is really small and the town is kind of cute. It has some good restaurants. I think the coastal walk is supposed to be cool but I didn’t have a change to get there as I was working all day.

When I got to my hotel, the phone in the room didn’t work. They tried to fix it but it didn’t work so they upgraded me to another room with a working phone. I think it’s working, I didn’t try it yet. IMG_1112The local landline phone is a pretty important tool for this job, especially when it’s an English speaking city. It was kind of annoying to change rooms but this room is much better. There are no safes in the rooms so I put my passport in my travel wallet and gave it to the lady at the front to put in the safe at reception.

I went out after that whole thing and worked because I didn’t want to sit in the rather depressing hotel room and make phone calls – there was other work to be done. There are a few good stores here and a mall and reasonably priced nail salons but it’s not a major commercial centre. In the late afternoon I did laundry and worked out.

IMG_1113

There’s do-it-yourself laundry here at the hotel which is very cool. You can buy detergent at the reception and I asked about dryer sheets and they had no idea what I was talking about. I’m going to do laundry the morning I come home so the clothes will be clean. The laundry is next to the gym so you can work out and do laundry at the same time. This is really cool, and while the gym is basic with old equipment, it has high ceilings and I was the only one there so it was not too bad. The awesome gym/laundry combination was the second best thing that happened today. The best part of my day was video chatting with with Lev! I’m so excited to head home in a few days and see him for real. I’m getting homesick and antsy.

IMG_1114

I went to dinner at a restaurant specializing in south Indian cuisine. It was pretty delicious and the staff at the restaurant were nice. I had little lentil donuts (which are apparently a popular street food) and vegetable curry. I’ll probably go back there again as there were more things on the menu that looked really interesting.

I had been feeling weird about my passport in the safe all day, just a weird feeling. So I decided to get it because I would feel more comfortable keeping it with me. When I got back to the hotel, I asked the receptionist if I could have my travel wallet from the safe as I needed something in it. She went to go unlock the safe and came back and said that it wasn’t there. She looked again and no. I said could you please call the other woman who was working here in the morning who put it in the safe, this is a very serious issue. The receptionist said “she’s working tomorrow”. I told her there was no way I was going to be able to sleep not knowing if my passport was secure. She acted like it was my fault that she couldn’t find my travel wallet and i’m so pissed about that. She acted like this was a huge burden. Please. Turns out it was in the safe and after she called the other woman it seemed clear that she just wasn’t looking hard enough. Uhh.

Tomorrow I work more and hopefully it will be sunny so I can walk around on the coastal walk.

Love, Annie

One Response to “Hi from New Plymouth”

  1. Marlene clayton Says:

    Love my grand daughter with attitude! You were right about the stuff in the safe and did not back down, you were polite and nice but stck to your guns what great attitude. Does New Zealand have a cuisine? You seem only to go to Asian foods. Hope the weather is better today and you get to see the city. Thanks for the blog,Bubbia


Leave a Reply

