Auckward!

February 5, 2014

Dear Family and Friends,

Nothing has been awkward about these days, I just wanted to use that title. It has been a nice few days in Auckland. I hope your week has been good. I haven’t been able to write for the past few days because I’ve been so overtired. Arriving here at 1:30 AM had taken its toll. IMG_1018On Monday, I worked and then went to Ari’s to eat dinner. She cooked! It was really nice to have a meal not in a restaurant and with some friends.

On Tuesday, I got up early for some meetings and worked the whole day well into the night. I stopped for lunch at a restaurant called “Euro” which is supposed to be one of the best restaurants in NZ and in the world. I was expecting to be impressed but was not impressed at all. The fish was decent, but the salad was silly (soggy iceberg lettuce with salami on it… and it wasn’t even the salad I ordered) and soggy potato wedges on the side. The service wasn’t that great. I looked on trip advisor and many of the comments said exactly what I was thinking “disappointed.”

Today I worked in the morning and then… went bungy jumping off the harbour bridge! It was incredibly fun. IMG_1035I’m downloading the pictures now and they will be ready tomorrow. I was the only one who booked at that time and it was so personal. I got to jump a second time for free because they needed someone to jump for the bridge climbers as they get to watch a jump. So I jumped once forward and the other time backwards. The guys on the platform were so nice.  There was some great pump up music at the top of the platform to take your  mind off of the jumping. I was really nervous but felt safe the whole time.

I got to the jumping base early, so I got to walk around the harbour a bit. Auckland is a big sailing city. I think my parents would like it here! I took a bunch of pictures of sailboats for my dad. After that nice break, I worked again and then had dinner with Ari at a Belgian beer house. We had delicious raspberry beer. Tomorrow, we are going to go to the beach and hopefully the weather won’t be too bad.

Love, Annie

2 Responses to “Auckward!”

  1. Marlene clayton Says:

    Thanks for the blog, it was so nice to here from you after a few days. I am glad I did not know your plans of bungy jumping but now that you did it, congratulations , I hope once is enough! Love you🌹🌹🌹

  2. Ronna Says:

    Ok you’ve done it! Never have to do it again, right? RIGHT? Love you!


Leave a Reply

