Adios Port Moresby!

February 1, 2014

Dear Family and Friends,

I hope you are having a nice weekend. Today was an extremely boring and moderately frustrating day. After breakfast, I worked a bit more and then tried to go to a crafts market. I walked down to one on a beach near the hotel accompanied by one of the hotel security guards (it’s unsafe to walk around by myself here) but it was closed. I was told there were other crafts markets elsewhere so I called Michael, who said he would come pick me up in a half hour. Forty-five minutes later, I called him and he said my friend will come in one hour. I told him forget it.

For some reason, the concierge was not able to connect with anyone else (any other company or person) to take me on one last errand for work and a crafts market. Eventually the hotel guards were nice enough to take me on that work errand, and would have taken me to a different crafts market but by that time (1:30 PM) they were all closed. One of the guards in the car told me I was the first American he had ever met. I hope I made a good impression.

I got back to the hotel and had lunch and then sat by the pool and read. I finished The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult, which I thought started out slow but turned out to be excellent and I didn’t want to put it down. I started Gun Guys by Dan Baum. After that I worked out for a bit and checked in for my first flight and had dinner.

Tomorrow I fly to Auckland. I really hope my plane does not get delayed from Port Moresby as I have just under two hours to change planes and check in for the next flight, which is not on the same airline. I’ll be spending the whole day traveling and don’t get in to Auckland until about 1:00 AM. Auckland is another three hours ahead of Port Moresby, 18 hours ahead of Boston. That’s not the best way to spend a birthday but also not the worst as long as everything goes smoothly. This will be my third survey birthday!

Love, Annie

One Response to “Adios Port Moresby!”

  1. Marlene clayton Says:

    It is shocking to me that you have to have security to walk around. Well I certainly hope New Zealand is nicer. Well since your Birthday is up in the air, I want to wish you a happy birthday and next year how about a party at my house with your friends and a bunch of relatives that really care about you on 2/2/15. Love you so muchXXXOOO


Leave a Reply

