Adios Australia, Hello Papua New Guinea!

January 29, 2014

Dear Family and Friends,

I’m writing from my hotel here in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea. I flew through Brisbane, and my flight got delayed about two hours. The hotel is nice, and the airport pickup shuttle was waiting for me and one other woman just as we arrived. So far, so good! The plane that carried us to Port Moresby was called a Fokker 100. Ha! Fokker.

Yesterday was just a work day. I had meetings, finished up my survey, and packed up. All in all, I had a very positive experience surveying in Australia. I started another Words With Friends game with Bubbie and she’s already kicking my ass after three turns (I know… attitude!) I’m not sure I’ll be able to play here though because I can only use the Internet on one device and the computer takes priority.

Internet usage is also outrageously expensive here – it’s 100 Kina, 40 USD for 160 MB downloaded. I’m honestly unsure how many hours of checking email, g chatting, and blogging that 160 MB is going to get me, but we’ll see. If anyone reading this knows, please comment!  Do you think i’d be able to stream TV shows without it running out? If you go on a certain floor and buy a pass for that floor, you can use unlimited internet for the day on that floor and have access to breakfast and a happy hour. I’ll probably do that one day.

I’m really looking forward to work tomorrow!

Love, Annie

One Response to “Adios Australia, Hello Papua New Guinea!”

  1. Ronna Says:

    totally wish I could help…but no clue!


Leave a Reply

