Happy Australia Day!

January 26, 2014

Dear Family and Friends,

I hope you are well. Today is Australia Day here. Even though it’s just after 7, I have to get to bed. I’m feeling sick and IMG_0822I think it’s from being overtired and too much sun. This morning I got up really early and dealt with some issues concerning my apartment at home. My parents and Lev were so helpful and supportive and I want to thank them. I tried to go back to sleep but that didn’t work very well. I went to dim sum a bit later and it was okay, it’s better when you are with people.

After that I took the train to Cottesloe beach, which was the perfect thing to do on this day. IMG_0810There were many orange sandal shaped rafts rafts because Havaianias was having a promotion or event there. It was so crowded at one area, but there are miles and miles of beach to walk on, which is really cool, so it was easy to have a quiet area to walk around and swim. I got to swim in the ocean, one of my favorite activities ever, and the water was nice and warm. The waves were huge! People on the beach were friendly. I had a spray sunscreen so I only got burned on some areas. I had to be extra careful because I’ll be meeting with a client soon and didn’t want to look like an idiot who doesn’t use sunscreen properly. The wind as so strong on the beach that you couldn’t lie on the sand because the sand blew in your face. I understand why people brought tents and protective things to help shield them from the wind.

Near the end of the day, I started feeling sick with a pounding headache. IMG_0807I started to feel nauseated waiting for the train ride home and overly sensitive to smells. I prayed that I would not throw up on the train and thankfully did not. I tried to eat dinner at an italian restaurant and wasn’t able to even eat a small appetizer of tiny peppers stuffed with ricotta cheese, something I thought I was craving and would love. I ate some bread and drank seltzer water but kept feeling sicker. I confirmed something was definitely wrong because I could not eat, one of my other favorite activities. I purchased some Panadol on the walk back to the hotel. When I got to the room I threw up and showered and feel slightly better – better enough to write this – but still sick.

Tomorrow I will probably get up early and look forward to a productive work day.

Love, Annie

One Response to “Happy Australia Day!”


  1. You know that I’m only as happy as my most unhappy child so please please let me know when you are better. Love you so much.


Leave a Reply

