Great Day Diyarbakir

November 20, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

Today was a very productive day in Diyarbakir. 20131120_101019I started with a nice breakfast at a local cafe. I just ordered “food” and they brought me all of this! For 4.5 dollars, not bad. After breakfast, I headed out with a driver Ismeil (who is actually a security guard at the Tigris university). We had a very productive day and got to know each other throughout the day even though he didn’t speak english. When we stopped for coffee, we used a pen and paper to draw out our families and communicate. 20131120_144248He has three teenage kids and a wife. I told him about my family and apparently “Melissa” is a Turkish name. During our lunch break I also showed him a letter in turkish that kind of explains what I am doing, and for the rest of the afternoon he was even more helpful. After we hit every place on my list, he took me out for this Delicious coffee in a kind of hidden area in the old part of the city. 20131120_142025To get to the cafe we walked through a metal workers alleyway. The coffee was pistachio coffee made with milk and it was very decadent. We went into a store afterward and he bought me some of my own! I can’t wait to try it with my colleagues and with Lev, who I am very excited to see. I hope he is excited to see me. 20131120_150409After the coffee we went to see the big wall, and then to the Tigris River! There were some people playing musical instruments at the bridge over the Tigris, and also a big school group. So cool. After that, we were finished and Ismeil took me back to the hotel. I had an early dinner at a restaurant nearby, and now I’m hanging out in my room. Tomorrow night I leave for Ankara!
Love, Annie

2 Responses to “Great Day Diyarbakir”

  1. Marlene clayton Says:

    Very nice picture of you and it looks a bit warmer than it had been. Sounds like you had a busy day. What were the metal workers making or were they just fixing up things? I know I am excited to see you and I would put money on that Lev is too. 143


Leave a Reply

