Work and Shopping in Istanbul

November 14, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope you are well! This morning I had a few meetings north of the city. istanbulIn the afternoon, I went down to the old city to meet my mom who was finishing up her Istanbul Eats tour! On the way there, I stepped on my ankle the wrong going down a hill (it hurts so much still) and then walked over the wrong bridge. The pain didn’t really pick up until after dinner and now it hurts to walk and is swollen.

We met up and headed through the spice market and the grand bazaar – both were very interesting! My mom had done a very comprehensive food tour of the old city

20131114_183834so she was able to teach me some things about foods and where to shop (for food, not in the tourist bazaars). Then we had dinner at a famous restaurant and I tried ayran, the salty yogurt drink. I liked it. Tomorrow – more work and maybe a turkish bath in the night time!

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

