Working Wednesday in Istanbul!

November 13, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

I hope you are well. Today was a really nice day. I’m enjoying Istanbul and find the people to be really cool and not too fancy. I woke up early and took the Metro to the first mall. 20131113_095548The metro is very easy to use and a few of the malls are even connected to the Metro stations, which is Wonderful! I arrived at the mall at 8:30, but it didn’t open until ten so I went to a small cafe for breakfast. It was a really local place, and I ate and drank tea and watched people walk in and out and sometimes eat there. 20131113_150701After that, I got a significant amount of work done at three different malls. At one mall, security approached me almost immediately, but then after wasting some time they said I was okay. I had to explain to them why I was writing. For lunch I ate at the food court in the mall and it was Excellent. A portion of chicken and salad bar with all sorts of pickled vegetables.

After work I met back up with my mom and we went to find a dinner place. 20131113_201214We didn’t go to the restaurant we had initially wanted to visit, but we went to an amazing place that was a suggestion from one of the men who worked in a clothing store we happened to stop in to. We had passed that restaurant last night, but didn’t go in! It didn’t look great from the outside. We shared a mixed kabab plate. I think we are going to go back and get some chicken baked in salt. It seemed to be the specialty. Tomorrow I have some meetings! My mom is going to go on an Eating and Walking tour of the old city.

Love, Annie

One Response to “Working Wednesday in Istanbul!”

  1. Bubbie marlene Says:

    Pictures are fabulous. It’s nice to have Mom to have dinner with ands sounds great. Please ask mom if I can text her without costing. Love you


Leave a Reply

