Baku to the Future!

November 2, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

Pretty funny, eh? My original title was “Intro to Baku” but then I spoke to Lev who is wittier than I am. Today was a great day, and Baku is very interesting.

20131102_134233I’m trying to understand the culture, it’s not obvious. In most places, I feel like I can get a feel of it right away. The obvious things are: People speak Azeri and Russian, and a tiny little English. People have been pretty receptive to my work and I haven’t been told to stop writing. It seems people are friendly and curious. Unibrows are pretty cool here. Traffic can be bad!

20131102_145900

After breakfast, I took a cab downtown and began my work. The area I was in today was all brand new. There are some weird buildings, here, but nothing compared to Astana. The streets and structures are very fancy, and often rather bare. After work, I went baku to my hotel (HAHA!) and had an Amazing work out. Thy gym at my hotel is incredible. 20131102_141424It’s actually fancier than my gym back home. The treadmills are in Cyrillic so it took me a little bit to figure out how to get going :). The first picture was taken on a major shopping street. The second, on top of a hotel, and the third one is of Fountain Square. Tomorrow, I’m going to take some time to walk around the old city.

Hope you are having a nice weekend!

Love, Annie

 

Leave a comment