TIL: The 2nd Largest Building in the World is in Bucharest!

October 30, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

The Peoples Palace, or Palace of the Parliament in Bucharest is the second largest building in the world, after the Pentagon. It is the heaviest building in the world. 20131030_144828I went there today and took a tour! The lighting is horrible in this first picture, I know. It was so cool so I had to put it anyway- it’s taken from the front balcony. Even though the tour was almost two hours long, we saw under 5% of the building. Apparently, most of the palace “looks like office building built in the 80s,” because that’s kind of what it is, so I imagine I got to see some of the most glamorous parts. Before this, I woke up early and went to a meeting. A driver picked me up from the hotel so I felt very important. 20131030_132129I finished my work and then headed to the Palace. I stopped for lunch and sat outside and ate an omelette. My time at the Palace was kind of work too because I’m assigned to report on it. Cool!!!

There’s not much I can tell you that I learned that you cannot read from Wikipedia. It took me 20 minutes to walk not around the building but from one end to the other. It’s very heavily guarded. The tours cost 45 Lei, which is about 15 dollars. If you want to take pictures they tell you it’s another 30 Lei, 10 dollars, but they never collected. I wanted to tip the tour guide at the end but she seemed to run away from the group when the tour finished. 20131030_154150I asked some romanian people if It was customary to tip the tour guide and they said, yes, but maybe not for a tour of parliament, and it would be more customary to tip for a private tour and not so much a large one. After the tour, I went into the museum of national costume which was also in the building. It was like 100 examples of the  same costume. You’ve basically seen everything with this one picture I have provided. That’s Romanian traditional dress for you.

20131030_143136I forgot to say, the other day in the supermarket, they played K’naan’s song Waving Flag. A long time ago, my brother took a video of our dog Sophie and put it to that music. The song makes me SO happy and want to dance around and sing it. Supermarket music is always really a treat. In Ukraine, the highlight in one of the markets was Queen’s Radio Gaga. We spend so much time in the supermarkets in this job so the music everyone hears on survey is always a fun conversation.

Tomorrow, I’m waking up early in order to catch the train to Brasov, the town right near the Dracula’s Castle! I wish you the best!!!!!!

Love, Annie

 

One Response to “TIL: The 2nd Largest Building in the World is in Bucharest!”

  1. Marlene clayton Says:

    Oh now I know, you wanted to see Draculas castle on Halloween. Cool, have a fun day and thanks for this blog and pictures, love you


Leave a Reply

