Day Off Postponed to Thursday

October 27, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

I’ve done this because I’d really like to take the holiday off (the Halloween Holiday). Hope the weekend was nice for you. Today I woke up naturally at 10:00 AM and it felt great. I had a good breakfast and worked for the rest of the day. There is very strong coffee at breakfast. I’ve done this because I’d really like to take the holiday off (the Halloween Holiday). 20131027_165127In the taxi to the mall in the morning, the driver and I discussed music and why people don’t buy American cars. He used to have a Jeep, but it ate up too much gas.

Going home from the mall, I found a taxi driver who didn’t want to use the meter and asked for 40 Lei for the ride. I said Not a chance, I’ll pay 20. Because with the meter on the way over it was 20 including tip.  We settled on 25 which became 30 because he said it was Sunday… and he wanted to get a coffee… fine. It’s a bit over 3 Lei to the dollar.  We ended up speaking to each other in Spanish during the ride!

For dinner I ate Lebanese food in the old city. Fattoush and a pita with beef, tahini, onions, tomatoes and pickles. I think it’s pretty easy to find tasty Lebanese food in many cities.

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

