See Ya, Sierra Leone. Adios, Africa!

August 26, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope you are well. Looks like I am heading home tomorrow instead of on Friday. Aside from a meeting tomorrow morning, I’m all done with my work.

20130826_130429

I head out tomorrow late at night, but will have to leave the hotel earlier because of the car and boat rides. Today was a regular, productive day. I started with Abdoul (note the spelling – this is the correct way to spell it. I know this now that we are facebook friends). In the first picture, you can see a kind of sick, sleeping dog underneath a car. 20130826_145555This is a far too familiar sight here in Freetown. Sometimes there are two or three dogs under one car. I’ve also witnessed a few dead dogs on the the road. It make me so sad. I’ve seen more stray dogs here (street dogs, as they are called) than I have in any other place in the world.

20130826_150350

The second picture is of Lumley circle, a major round about and commercial centre. I don’t think too many foreigners go here except to drive through. We went here in search of a place that can print digital photographs, so this picture was taken standing outside of a second floor shop where you can make copies and print things. 20130826_174218They don’t do the digital photographs that I was looking for though. For lunch, Abdoul and I drank ciders and shared some pizza. It was delicious and fun. He showed me on his phone some beaches near Freetown that were not polluted at all. Next time! Now, I’ve loaded up Breaking Bad, and am SO excited to watch it in bed. All in all, it’s been a really rewarding, interesting survey. My mom said she will pick me up from the airport, and I am soo excited. Thanks for following my blog! See you soon!

Love, Annie

2 Responses to “See Ya, Sierra Leone. Adios, Africa!”

  1. Lev Says:

    Hooray! You’re coming home early.

  2. Bubbie marlene Says:

    Can hardly wait, love you


Leave a Reply

