Adios Abidjan, Hello Sierra Leone!

August 23, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

I hope you are well. I apologize, I did not write yesterday because I had a headache and couldn’t deal with looking at the computer screen. It was certainly a nice day though. 20130822_145325After a successful meeting (finally) I finished my work and then Chino and I went to a nearby beach town called Grand Bassam. It was very fun. We walked around on the beach and drank coconuts! On the way back, I tried to let a fly out the window but accidentally closed the window and squished it. We had a laugh about that. I also bought a wooden mancala board with some seeds to play. I think that will be a nice souvenir.

20130823_175202I knew how to play this game because when I was little, I played this computer game called Strategy Games of The World and it had Mancala, a game called Go-Moku (I think that’s how you spell it – it’s a Japanese game where you try to get five in a row of your color first) and a viking game that I don’t remember the name of because I thought it was annoying for some reason. This game was before Where in the World is Carmen Santiago and Command and Conquer. We played lots of computer games when we were little.

20130823_182931This morning, I woke up, packed, and headed to the airport. I was pretty happy to leave Abidjan! The journey to Sierra Leone was a long one. Two different planes. Then after getting off the plane at Sierra Leone International airport, a boat ride to take you to the city. I had an easy time with it because I had set up a service to pick me up at every step of the way (it’s best if you do that here). It worked really well, each time I got off somewhere (the plane, the boat) there was someone waiting for me with a sign with my name on it. YES!

20130823_184706

I was warned about the roads to the hotel, but didn’t realize how bad they would be! It’s pretty crazy, and SO interesting. I can’t believe the car made it up some of the hills. There is one main road that is paved, but other than that, It was an incredibly slow going, bumpy ride on dirt roads to the hotel. It’s rainy season, and all the rain really screws up the roads. In the picture is the paved road.

20130822_140757The hotel is FINE. It’s near the President’s house (which is also not on a paved road) and it looks way WAY better on the Web site (but don’t they all). The room is pretty good and the shower works FINE as well. There is a mosquito net. Im not thrilled about staying here for a week but it will be okay. Apparently this place is the best in town. Our client is staying here, and the people from the US Embassy also stay here. I had dinner with Paul, who works at the embassy. I met him on the way over. He wears a yarmulke and african clothes.

cutestHe is based in Frankfurt, and his family is there, but he travels to africa. He definitely keeps kosher because he stayed away from the shell fish and then I asked him about it. Cool! I asked him lots of questions about the foreign service because I’m curious about it maybe for the future, I know Lev (the handsome man in the picture above) might also be interested. Obviously that picture is not from survey, I just love it and look at it when I’m feeling lonely. I’m not feeling particularly lonely right at the moment, but wanted to share something that makes me really happy.

20130823_183759

In any case, Paul said got into the foreign service by applying just like everyone else. Of course. I was very nervous about the whole situation in Freetown before dinner, but am feeling much better after having eaten a good meal and after having spoke to some people about the safety of this hotel! I’m definitely looking forward to seeing how the markets are here! And to going home in a week!

Love, Annie

6 Responses to “Adios Abidjan, Hello Sierra Leone!”

  1. Marlene clayton Says:

    Glad your in the last city of your stay and it’s a nice picture of you, Lev, and Exodus. Did you ask the yalmaka guy where his minyan was for Shabbat. 143

  2. toemailer Says:

    We would love to post the picture of you on the beach and an excerpt of your text at toemail if you do not mind? http://toemail.wordpress.com

  3. toemailer Says:

    It would be totally the spirit of your post no more no less. We post pictures where at least one toe is visible and we like to promote any and all good causes while we do it. 🙂

    • annesandwich Says:

      Hey! Thank you so much for your interest, but I’d like to decline your offer to put my picture on your blog. I’m not really in to feet and showing my toes wasn’t really the point of the picture.

      Thanks

      • toemailer Says:

        No problem at all. It’s funny but the blog is not really “about” feet or toes. Those are simply a point of departure for other ideas, places, experiences, etc..Have a good one! 🙂


Leave a Reply

