A Great Last Day in Accra!

August 17, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope all is well and you are having a nice weekend! I’ve just finished packing up to leave Accra for Abidjan, Ivory Coast. It’s actually really easy to pack up because I don’t have much stuff, only what can fit into a cary on. 20130817_091921Today was exciting. I woke up at 5:30 to head to the Slave Castles with Moses. The castles are about three hours away from Accra in the central coast region of Ghana. It was nice to see outside of the major city.  I enjoyed how the buildings got smaller and smaller while the air got cleaner and cleaner the further we went from Accra. Our first stop was Elmina castle within Elmina township. Elmina is a huge fishing village. Unfortunately it was very smelly. 20130817_102531We parked in the village. When we got out of the car, some children came up and said “Peace!” I said “Peace to you too!” and some of the kids held my hand and kissed my hand and tried not to let go. The president of Ghana was planning to visit the town later in the day, so the place was, according to Moses, even more crowded and chaotic than it usually is. We left Elmina to head for Cape Coast castle, but on the way stopped for coconuts. This guy chopped the top off the fresh coconut, and I chugged the entire thing at once. Then he cut it up a little more so it was possible to eat the meat inside. 20130817_110420We got three for two cedis, so Moses ate one and I had a second! They were so delicious. We arrived at Cape Coast and I took a tour of the Slave Castle there. It was extremely interesting and I learned a ton. On the tour were people from all nationalities, including Ghanians. I made kind of friends with this group of guys from Accra. They told me that they are happy I was here to learn about history because it’s very important but also noted that they had no hard feelings about what happened in the past and wanted everyone to just love each other. 20130817_112736Okay, cool. They wanted to know what I thought of the castle and I said pretty scary but I was happy to be learning. We went into dungeons were people were held for three months with no lights or sanitation, and hot cells with no air flow in which people were just left to die. The picture of the boats shows fishermen working right outside of the “door or no return” where if someone walked out, they were going overseas and not back to their home. After the castle tour, Moses and I rushed to our final activity of the day, Kakum national park. That picture is of Moses on the canopy tour.

20130817_132931

We rushed over because we wanted to avoid traffic on the way back.  I didn’t know what to expect but the park was SO cool. We took a canopy tour, so we walked a bit up a mountain, and then walked up some stairs, and all of a sudden we got to walk on rope bridges 100 feet above ground and got to look down on the forest. I met a group of American college students who were doing some sightseeing around Ghana after their Medical Brigade. They had been setting clinics and bringing medical supplies around Accra (they were all pre-med students). 20130817_133646After the tour, we headed home and it took about three hours. On the way I got some plantain chips from a hawker on the street and they were delicious. I ate dinner back at the hotel and read my book (I’m almost done with Half of a Yellow Sun now. Soon I’ll ask my mom which other book on the account to read next!). I’m very tired from being up so early so it’s bed time soon. Today was a really awesome day. Tomorrow, my flight is in the early afternoon and I hope everything goes smoothly!

Love, Annie

One Response to “A Great Last Day in Accra!”

  1. westiedad Says:

    You come across very informative signs. Don’t do this here, do it there etc. Maybe they deserve a post of their own?


Leave a Reply

