Working Sunday in Lagos

August 11, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

Today was another excellent day. Even though it was Sunday, I still worked. Sometimes, there aren’t flights on the exact days we want them, so we have to work around it, and sometimes that means taking a day off in a not – as – desirable place, or it means working on a Sunday.

anniehorse

Tawo and I started at 10:00 AM today. We took a little break mid morning and I got to ride a horse on the beach! It’s called Bar beach. They are doing some landfill projects at the beach, so that took away from the peacefulness of it, and also it smelled pretty bad like pee in some areas. All in all, a great experience.

For lunch, we went to a restaurant called The Yellow Chili for Nigerian food. Again I ordered something nasty but had to eat it. Some parts of the lunch were great, like the fish in soup and the plantains, but the beans were just horrible. They had that same taste as last nights dinner (although the texture was definitely better) and was slightly more palatable. 20130811_115140

I think the issue is that a bunch of Nigerian dishes are flavored with dried fish. One cool thing about the restaurant was that they had lamps on the walls all made out of Shofars! (large animal horns). Unfortunately, I couldn’t share my excitement with anyone as I’m not  sure how they feel about Jews in Nigeria.

After lunch, we worked more and then in the late afternoon, I did some transcribing (notes into my official data book) outside at the bar of my hotel. I got to sit at a high-top table, my favorite kind of table. The world sports games were on TV, and I watched a bunch of Track and Field events including the 100 meter sprint with Usain Bolt. A Nigerian couple (From Port Harcourt) was also watching and we bonded a little over our interest in the runners. 20130811_124006One of the events was the women’s 10,000 meter race. Now, when I’m home, thats the distance I like to run regularly for exercise. I’ve been working up to a fast pace (for me, and for others, it’s pretty fast!) and can complete it on the treadmill in just under 49 minutes. The winner of this race ran it in 30 minutes and change. Simply incredible.

For dinner I ordered right and had a tasty fish and rice and vegetables. Now I’m doing a bit more transcribing and plan to watch The Newsroom! Tomorrow I look forward to some meetings and more work. I hope you are doing well!

Love, Annie

One Response to “Working Sunday in Lagos”

  1. Marlene clayton Says:

    Thank you for the blog, am happy that you seem to enjoy the work in Lagos. Hey what about words with friends? 143


Leave a Reply

