Hello Pittsburgh!

July 22, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope you are doing well. I’m currently on a short survey of Pittsburgh before heading to West Africa on August 4th.

20130722_121852

That trip will include Republic of Congo, Nigeria, Ghana, Ivory Coast, and Sierra Leone. All my visas are in order and I’m really excited.

Today I took a short morning flight to Pittsburgh and after settling in at the hotel (which is great, by the way), I went to lunch (at Pita Pit… not that special but it was the best thing I could find in my southside neighborhood) and then  to work. On the way home from the market, my taxi got rear ended! Kind of hard, but we were not hurt. It took a bit of time for the driver and the woman who rear ended him to exchange data, but I didn’t care because there was no rush.

20130722_162530

I felt bad for the driver because it was the end of his shift and he just wanted to go home but because we got in an accident he had to take his car into the cab place to get it checked out. We talked about muscle building techniques in the car, and also how he had worked since four in the morning.It was about 430 by the time I got dropped off.

I had a nice workout at the gym, and then went to dinner at a place called Dish, a little Italian restaurant.  I sat at the end of the bar intending to do work, but ended up having a conversation with an enormous man from Pittsburgh. He used the word “jagoff” to describe his friend. When he said this I had to use all my powers not to crack up because my colleague Alex had warned me that they use this term and accent in Pittsburgh. The little restaurant had delicious food and drinks, and it was a great experience. I’m very excited for a complimentary hotel breakfast and a full day of work tomorrow!

Love, Annie

2 Responses to “Hello Pittsburgh!”

  1. Bubbie Says:

    Nice hearing from you. Do you think you, Lev and whoever else can have dinner before you leave on your next assignment? Love you

  2. annesandwich Says:

    I think so! I love you too, Bubbie!


Leave a Reply

