Monday in HCMC

May 20, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

Today was a very productive day. I woke up very early, worked with just a small break until my meeting at 2:00, and finished around 7:00 PM. I was getting very tired after the first supermarket of the afternoon, but needed to push onwards because there was another market right in the same area. 20130520_204335The second market was a Metro market. I’ve been to Metro markets in the other cities in Vietnam. They are very annoying to survey because they are enormous, everything is in a value pack (it’s like halfway Costco) they make you put your purse in a little plastic bag and staple that shut for security. Uh! It does have really fabulous quality produce and meats, though. They have a special freezer room for meats and they give you vests to go in there so you don’t get cold trying to figure out which is the Australian strip loin. Fortunately, before I went in I spotted a Yogenfrüz at the exit of the market.

20130520_174334

I actually went in the exit by mistake and they made me go around. But that encounter lifted my spirits and when I was done with the market I got an awesome Yogenfrüz with raspberries, blueberries, pineapple, blackberries, and mango on the top. Yeah! Those who have been following my blog for a while know that Yogenfrüz is one of my favorite things. I first enjoyed one in Antofagasta in August, and have not passed a Yogenfrüz without getting one since (I don’t actually pass them that often). I had the manager of the store take a picture of me and people laughed at that. It came out blurry. Boo! After the market I had a nice evening walk around the neighborhood of my hotel. I did a little shopping but mostly walking around. For dinner, I went to an Indian restaurant and ate curry sea bass. It will be an early day tomorrow as well!

Love, Annie

One Response to “Monday in HCMC”

  1. Lev Says:

    Ciao!


Leave a Reply

