Hello Hanoi!

May 9, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope you are well! I arrived in Hanoi last night. The flight and immigrations process was easy and then driving to the hotel was very tense. I didn’t feel unsafe but it was just very chaotic. 20130509_110705There are some lanes but it doesn’t seem like anyone cares. There are a few stop lights but I’m not sure people really care about those either.

Today was an interesting and productive day. I got up early for a meeting. I think the best part of the day was breakfast after the meeting, pictured here. I just said please bring me something delicious and this is what I got. Absolutely it was delicious. After some research it looks like I’m eating Bánh cuốn, a rolled rice “pancake” that is popular for breakfast in northern Vietnam. The ladies working at the restaurant laughed at me when I asked to have this picture taken. 20130509_110220Then they laughed at me again when I squeezed some lime over the pancakes. I quickly learned you are supposed to squeeze the lime into the dipping soup and not onto the pancakes.

I worked for the rest of the day. One stop was to one of the dinkiest smallest supermarkets i’ve ever been in… ever. Some foreigners even came up to me in the store and asked me if I knew of a better supermarket. Nope!

Not yet at least. 20130509_172308It started to rain in the late afternoon and I went back to the hotel and had a work out. The gym is pretty gross. To be honest I expected better facilities from a reputable hotel chain. Now I’m eating spring rolls for dinner and drinking green tea. I’m pretty lonely but still content. I’m looking forward to watching Nashville on my computer tonight. I know it’s really stupid but one of the leads is the mom from Friday Night Lights and she’s so awesome. It’s replaced Gossip Girl as my guilty pleasure. Also looking forward to more work and adventures tomorrow.

Love, Annie

One Response to “Hello Hanoi!”

  1. fran sherman Says:

    HA I LOVE Nashville. Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

