Hi Chiang Mai!

April 29, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

I’ve arrived Safely in Chiang Mai and it’s awesome.

20130428_210959Yesterday, I ate Thai food for brunch, drove to Bangkok International (sat in traffic for a while), and took the flight to Chiang Mai. Even though it was just an hour in length, the flight was Huge, tons of people heading to Chiang Mai. Waiting in line to board, I met a woman and a man from Boston. Coincidentally, the woman works at Tufts University and recognized my face from my old job! We worked in the same building. Weird! 20130428_211952We chatted a bit on the plane ride and it was really fun. Bubbie is right, always behave because you never know who you’re going to run in to.

I arrived in Chiang Mai and the drive from the airport to the hotel was short. The hotel is fabulous. For dinner, I went to the Sunday Market because that’s what the hotel receptionists suggested. It’s bigger and better than the normal night market, apparently. The market experience was totally overwhelming in the best way. I bargained for and purchased a few gifts, and then went to get dinner. 20130428_213446 (1)I saw some amazing things to eat and settled on pad thai in a temple courtyard with a ton of other people. Great food, great atmosphere.

This morning, I had two meetings and then went to the hotel pool. It’s a really nice pool, and enormous. When I got there, they handed me a towel “would you like to sit in the sun or the shade?” I chose a bed/ chair thing that was both sunny and shady.

20130428_214240

Then I jumped in the pool. It’s 2.5 meters deep at one end. When I got out, a pitcher of ice lemon water was waiting for me with some cut up fruit. Hooray! I also ate some spicy papaya salad with a whole softshell crab in it (like, it was not cut up into pieces). So I just ate the crab bite by bite and it was pretty good but kind of weird to eat as I’m not used to eating whole animals.

After swimming, I went for a workout. After the workout, I worked a little more and then went to dinner at a Thai and Indian restaurant called Whole Earth. 20130429_204744It specializes in vegetarian, indian, and thai food. I ate the masaman chicken curry, a specialty. Yum, I kind of want to go back there again. After dinner I walked around the regular night market (which was, indeed, less impressive than the Sunday market). Sometimes things on survey are so good that it makes me really sad I don’t have anyone to share them with. Tonight I felt that way. Tomorrow is another working day and I’m excited for it.

Love, Annie

One Response to “Hi Chiang Mai!”

  1. Bubbie marlene Says:

    Great blog as I felt like I was in Sunday market with you. Glad your hotel is up to par. What are some of the high lights in this city not neccesarily at night. Keep blogging so you are sharing but of course I can not share the physical moments, like a beautiful sunset etc. Stay good and on May 26 it’s a Sunday I am having a big blast birthday party for Aaron’s 50th birthday. Disc jockey with Kareyoke it should be fun so hope you will be around and will come.om hasn’t said where I can send envite to you. Love you even tho your to busy to play friends. 143


Leave a Reply

