Adios Abu Dhabi

February 8, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope you are having a nice day. I’m pretty sad to leave Abu Dhabi tomorrow, its been Awesome. Today I went to the beach and swam in the Persian Gulf, which was pretty cool. I paid ten dirhams (under 3 dollars) to get from the public beach to the “Family Beach,” where no single men are allowed. It was a much larger area, and much less crowded than the free public beach. I ate a Saj (awesome, very thin bread) sandwich with haloumi cheese and cucumbers and herbs on the beach. It was from a stand on the beach.

Before the beach, I got the lady from guest services to put some sun cream on my back. 🙂

In the afternoon, I showered and then headed over for an earlyish dinner at an Emirati restaurant called Mezlai back at the Emirates Palace. I wanted to see it in the day time and got some nice pictures. At the restaurant, they gave me my own gazebo outside to eat in, and I had something called Hammour ‘Mafrook’ which is a creamy fish dip that you eat with fresh pita bread. Hammour is a kind of fish here It was delicious. I also had vegetables and some turkish coffee and dates. Yum.

Now I’m back at the hotel, packed and ready to head to Kuwait nice and early tomorrow. I think I’ve eaten outside more in Abu Dhabi than any other place yet (other than maybe Mauritius.)

Love,

Annie

One Response to “Adios Abu Dhabi”


  1. Nice hearing from you and sorry you have to leave Abu Dhabi when you enjoyed it so much, on the other hand you will be closer in coming home, and that will make me so happy. According to Aunt Roberta, Kuwait is fabulous so you should enjoy that as well. We are in the middle of a giant snow storm, It will be in the running for the largest blizzard on record. But hopefully, I wont lose electric power so it will be not too tough to take love you


Leave a Reply

