Hello Abu Dhabi

February 4, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

Today I woke up, packed up in Dubai and headed to Abu Dhabi by taxi. It was great to leave that hotel. The driver was from Pakistan and really cool. We talked about a lot of things on the hour long drive.

When we arrived, I was happy to see a great hotel and when I got to my room, it was also great probably four times the size of the other one. I unpacked and went out for lunch at a nearby restaurant and cafeteria. I’ll probably go there again soon. I had fattoush and falafel plate and a bottle of water and the whole thing was 22 dirhams which comes out to about six dollars.

Then I worked, then worked out at the hotel gym. There is a small but nice hotel gym. At the gym I got asked out by Khaled from Lebanon. He told me I looked like an expert at the gym and wants to take me for a real arabic dinner. I don’t know what he was thinking, I looked really gross at the gym and definitely smelled too because I was wearing the same clothes from the gym a few days ago. They will be washed tomorrow.

After the gym I was pretty annoyed that the water in my room did not get hot. It wasn’t freezing, but not hot at all, SO uncomfortable. I called to see if they would fix it and an engineer come up to the room and “fixed” it, and there was hot water, I felt it. I went to dinner at the top of the hotel where there is a rotating restaurant. It was pretty neat. After dinner I tried to take a hot shower and no hot water.

Hopefully this gets fixed tomorrow. Sorry there are still no pictures the internet is better here but the pictures are still not uploading. Also I can’t stream Downton Abbey because it seems to not be allowed in this region. I will end on a good note, this city seems awesome. Its much more peaceful than Dubai and has some more green stuff like trees around. There is a park near my hotel. Good night!

Love, Annie

2 Responses to “Hello Abu Dhabi”

  1. Ronna Says:

    Glad you are safe. Stay away from strange men. Glad you have your Ipad with lots of good books! I love you!

  2. Marlene clayton Says:

    Glad you landed in Abu Daubing
    and all is well. The room is bigger and I hope nicer. Please watch yourself with strange guys . AaHopefully the water will be fixed tomorrow, but I doubt it you must see the manager and with attitude but lots of sweetness tell him to get it fixed right away or find another, better view maybe whatever but you must have a room with hot water. Let me know how you made out sweet dreams 14


Leave a comment