Wednesday in Dubai

January 30, 2013

Dear Family and Friends,

Today was a pretty solid work day in Dubai. After sleeping from 5:00 PM yesterday to 8:00 AM this morning, I was definitely ready to work. I started at the Mall of the Emirates, an enormous mall. I spent until 5:30 there collecting prices.

For lunch, I had Lebanese food, basically the exact same thing as yesterday but more expensive because it was a mall restaurant. Very delicious. At lunch, I stretched and and a waiter came over to me and told me it was bad to stretch after a meal. I’m not sure if it was offensive, or he just meant it was bad for you, because he told me something like: I work out a lot and when you do that, it breaks the passage where the food goes. I waited until I was far away from the restaurant to stretch again.

After the mall, I went straight to the Jumeirah Beach area to do a little more work and to see the area. Normally, I would have gone to the hotel first to drop off some stuff, but the hotel is pretty gross and there isn’t any reason to hang out in the room, I don’t really want to be there except to sleep.

I got to see the beach and walked on it a little. I had dinner at an indian restaurant outside and really appreciated being able to do that. I had a really nice tandoori paneer dish that I hadn’t had before. Jumeirah beach area is ritzy and pretty of cheesy. There are a lot of serious cars and fancy hotels. It didn’t seem like there was a lot of “culture”, everything was just new and had an outlet mall atmosphere where there are a lot of different stores and restaurants but all the architecture is the same and the restaurant names are large and often lit up.

On the upside, there is pretty good people watching here. There are tons of people of different nationalities walking around, I have noticed especially there are a lot of Russian people. Tomorrow, I have some meetings.

Hope you are doing well.

Love, Annie

2 Responses to “Wednesday in Dubai”


  1. Have you met anybody to speak with or other Americans? If the hotel is bad why not seek an upgrade and battle it out when you come home. Are the stores all international, like the Gap etc? What do you wear for shopping?Enjoy your travels. Love you

  2. annesandwich Says:

    hey Bubbie! There is a major conference in Dubai next week, so all the hotels are booked up and Really expensive! Can’t win em all. It’s not worth the effort or time to try to go somewhere new, especially when this one is suitable.

    I met one guy from Argentina at the hotel, but that’s it. It’s kind of hard to meet people because everyone is in groups, and the hotel is not a business hotel so I can’t go to the bar and meet people.

    The stores in the malls are everything you can imagine. Gap, Nine West, etc. There are a few chain stores from South Africa I recognize and of course stores I’ve never heard of.

    For surveying, I can wear normal clothes. Today I wore black jeans, a silk shirt, and a cardigan. People are wearing all different kinds of things. I’m not sure if this will be the case in other cities.

    Love you!


Leave a Reply

