Goodbye Shanghai!

November 16, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

I hope you are well. Today and yesterday were both pretty nice days in Shanghai. I worked and also saw some things. Yesterday, I walked around the French concession district around lunch time. It’s pretty close to my hotel. I thought it was nice, and pretty, and calm without huge buildings like the rest of the city, but I wasn’t sure what was so Awesome about this area that everyone recommended it. Maybe I missed something? Maybe the night life is really good? There are a lot of vintage shops there. Yesterday I also went to the area on the other side of the river, Pudong (the side I’m on now is called Puxi), to see the financial district, the pearl tower up close and the super brand mall.

I did a little shopping and drank a lemon tea with jelly cubes in it. I tried to order plain tea but that didn’t work. It was nice. After that I worked out, ate, and swam.

Today I worked a little in the morning and got ready for my meeting this afternoon. It rained all day today and was gross and cold. On the taxi ride on the way to the meeting, we were right on time, and all of a sudden my taxi driver hit a woman on a moped. She smacked into the passenger side of the car. Or they hit each other, I’m not sure exactly who hit who. The lady was alright but EXTREMELY angry. The moped was damaged and unrideable.  The taxi driver was also Extremely angry. They yelled at each other for a while and the police got involved. I realized that this taxi was actually not going anywhere soon, so I called the woman I was going to meet with, told her what happened and that I was going to be a little late, and she was fine. Good thing we have reliable international phones.

It was pouring rain at this point, and it took me a while to flag down another taxi. Usually they are so easy to find, but not so in the rain.

I was lucky the driver could read the paper I had with the address of the meeting because by then it was sopping wet. I wasn’t wearing the proper footwear for a rainy cold day so my feet were damp for the whole meeting, which made me Freezing but there was nothing to do except keep my jacket on.

After the meeting, I went home, worked out, swam, packed my suitcase for tomorrow, and then went to dinner at the chinese restaurant in the hotel that i’ve come to really really like. Now I’m here, waiting for Last Resort to load so I can watch it on my computer. Of course it’s important to keep up with the latest TV. This might be my last post for a while because I’m not sure how the internet will work in Guangzhou and in Shenzhen. I was Very lucky with the internet here and the accommodation in general. If not, I’ll keep writing and post when possible.

All the best and thank you so much for reading!!!

Love, Annie

One Response to “Goodbye Shanghai!”

  1. Marlene clayton Says:

    shanghai seemed like such a nice experience for you and I hope the rest of the trip will be great. Love you


Leave a Reply

