Tuesday and Wednesday in Shanghai!

November 14, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

The past few days have been pleasant, with a bit of frustration due to the language barrier. I’ve been working hard, and also working out and swimming. This afternoon while I was at the Radisson hotel collecting prices, got this awesome view! Unlike many of the viewing areas for different cities, this one didn’t cost me a thing. The fine dining restaurant is on the 47th floor (I think), and is a circle so you can walk around and get a 365 degree view of downtown Shanghai.

Today I also went for a visit at the Jing’an temple. I like how the temple is situated amongst all these large buildings. 

Let’s see … what else happened today … I met a lady in the supermarket near the canned corn and peas and we talked for a loonngg time. She is six weeks into a two year stay here… her husband is working here. She loves it and the only issue she has is that she is really far away from her kids and grand kids. Her son and daughter in law got married in Fenway park, even though she is from North carolina and her son lives in Colorado. I almost blurted out something about how Awesome that was especially because of the new law about marijuana but I held it in because I didn’t want her thinking the people helping to create her budgets were irresponsible. The third picture is the other side of the restaurant, you can see people’s park down below and the museum.

For dinner, I went to a nearby Japanese restaurant called DOZO. It could be seen on my walk from the hotel to the Subway It looked really cool and fancy so I thought I’d give it a try. Unfortunately, the service was complete crap. It’s trying to be a restaurant and a cool bar at once but I’m not sure they are doing it right, it kind of messed up both concepts. The food was decent, and I would have ordered another drink and more food had they asked me if I wanted some more but they didn’t and then it took forever to get the bill… kind of made me annoyed.

On a happier note, I’ve been really enjoying taking the subway everywhere!

I hope you are having an awesome week.

Love, Annie

One Response to “Tuesday and Wednesday in Shanghai!”


  1. Lovely photos, Annie!
    If you like photography, we’d like to invite you to participate in our next Travel Photography Competition. Here are the details:
    http://hitchhikershandbook.com/your-contributions/travel-photography/
    Happy travels!


Leave a Reply

