Adios Pilipinas!

November 9, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope you are well.

Today was the last day in the Philippines and it was also nice. I woke up, worked and then around noon took a trip to the Intramuras, a walled and historic area of Manila.

I saw the Fort Santiago, which was sweet. This is a theatre exhibit in one of the areas of the fort! Pretty crazy! Inside the heads there are little TV screens showing historical movies. It was hard to see what they were about, to be honest. The clips were old, and were changing really fast. The doggy in the second picture is two months old, and his proud owners were taking him somewhere in a box. Super cute.

In the taxi ride home, I got into a taxi and the driver said, I’d like to use a fixed rate and not the meter. I said no, please to use the meter. He said no, a fixed rate of 300. It only took 173 to get here, so I said, no, if you want to do a fixed rate we can do 200. So he said 250. So I said well forget it then, and opened the door of the cab to get out. He said Fine Fine! So that’s how I avoided getting ripped off big time on the way home. He put on the meter anyway and it only came out to 175. I gave him 200, he was a good driver and I said I would.

After this excursion, I worked some more, and then went to dinner went back to the Shangri-La Japanese restaurant for a third time (it’s So delicious, and by now I know people there) So it was really fun. Now I’m off to bed.

Hopefully, this is not goodbye for the rest of the trip, which is a little over three weeks longer. I leave for Shanghai tomorrow (then on to Guangzhou and Shenzhen) and there’s a chance I won’t be able to figure out how to get around the “great firewall” and use WordPress.

In any case, I will be documenting my trip just as I am now on a word document, and will post when I get the chance. All the best, and thank you So much for reading!

Love, Annie

2 Responses to “Adios Pilipinas!”

  1. Ronna Says:

    You better keep emailing or texting or something to let us know you are fine or I won’t be doing much sleeping!

  2. Marlene clayton Says:

    Neither will I so get to someone please. So happy with your blog and proud of you speaking up to the taxi driver, your getting to be an experienced traveler for sure. Love you


Leave a Reply

