Philippines Thursday

November 8, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

Today was another nice day in Manila. I got up and had a successful meeting, and then took a short trip to a great pearl market recommend by the woman I met with. It was definitely cool and I got some gifts. This first picture is what some of the stalls looked like. There were a lot of pearls here! The whole thing was pretty hectic and there was a lot of commotion. There were also many knock off bags there that were actually fabulous mimics of real ones but I’m not really interested in those. However, I went to investigate how good the stitching on the bags was because my grandma told me to do that. It was good.

After this, I went to lunch back at that Japanese restaurant because I Really liked the Udon soup there. I got to say hi to Florence the beagle but Snoopy, the dog from yesterday’s post, was on a break.

In the afternoon, I worked, and then it started to rain. It rained for the whole afternoon. For dinner, I went to an Indian restaurant at the Peninsula. I’m making the rounds to all the very upscale hotels.

Dinner was great. I ate with Abey from Lagos, Nigeria who is here on Business. He works for a company that makes products that I consume very often like candy and bottled waters.

It was a really really fun dinner. I think that while Manila isn’t my favorite city (it’s kind of hot and humid, Super traffic-y, and Makati, the area I’m in, is just a regular commercial centre ) I’m having a really great time.

I’ve been meeting lots of people because this is a major expat and international conference area. Now it’s time to sleep.

Love, Annie

2 Responses to “Philippines Thursday”

  1. Ronna Says:

    have a happy Friday Annie- I heard you had a nice conversation with Fran today- sounds like she gave you some great advice on China! Love you!

  2. Marlene clayton Says:

    really like the blogs. So happy to share a little of your trip. Have a nice day, love you


Leave a Reply

