Hello Manila!

November 6, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

I hope the American readers vote! I did on Absentee ballot a while ago. Today I had a meeting in Taipei in the morning, and in the afternoon headed to Manila.

I found this Airline at the airport and had Quite a laugh. I asked the ladies there Can I take a picture because it’s hilarious. I have a feeling I’m not the first person to find humor in FAT airlines.

I got to Manila and it’s hot and humid and Very traffic-y and the area I’m staying is just a huge mall complex. Most of my work is here so it will be convenient, but from my first impressions, I’m pretty happy I only have four days here. 

Some great things happened though tonight. First, one of the security guards is SUPER cute. You can see her in the picture. Her name is Beauty. 🙂 There is a lot of security here in Manila, in the hotel, at the airport exit, in the malls there are guards with metal detectors at every entrance. Usually at airports they don’t let you play with the security doggies, but they let me sit down and play with Beauty when she wasn’t working sniffing things.

For dinner, I tried to find a good restaurant across the street from the hotel, but things were too hectic and I just wanted to sit down with a glass of wine, so I opted for the hotel restaurant. That was a fortunate decision because I ended up sitting next to a man Adrian who works in the pharma industry and also is in the middle of a five week solo trip around Asia! He is from Romania but lives in NJ. We talked for a long time about lots of things like skiing in france, traveling alone and hotel experiences, chinese characters, politics, and philosophy. It was really fun to have his company!

The third picture is just one of my favorites pictures of my siblings and myself because I love them and miss them a lot!  And blog posts are definitely better with pictures. My sister lives in downtown NYC and I believe they just recently got power and water back. Hooray!

Love, Annie

2 Responses to “Hello Manila!”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Awwwwww
    Love you Annie!!!

  2. Ronna Says:

    Great post Annie. Love FAT airlines! Glad you will not be in Manila for too long. Contact Fran about the fire wall in China- she may be able to help you out. I know that Scott posted blogs from China regularly.


Leave a Reply

