Goodbye Medellin

August 22, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope you are having a nice week. I’m actually pretty sad to be leaving this city, It’s been so pleasant here. The weather- amazing, the people-so nice. the food-there are some gems here. I also felt very safe the whole time, which might be surprising to some people. It’s definitely in the top 5 survey locations ever.

Now that I think about it, My current top five favorite cities I’ve surveyed are (in no particular order): Kuala Lumpur, Cape Town, Anchorage, Medellín, Port Louis (Mauritius). The ones that come right next are Almaty, Moscow, and Lima. I’m sure this list will keep on changing and I’m excited to see how it does.

Today was a fairly relaxing day, as I got two important meetings out of the way by 11:30 AM. I finished up with some transcribing and phone calls, and went out to a nice lunch at La Providencia. It’s very highly rated on trip advisor, and the food was delicious. I got a light Fish dish that came with some vegetables and mashed potatoes. The food was delicious but the scenery was also extremely impressive. You can see from the second picture.

After eating, I took a long walk uphil to the hotel, finished working, and spent a bit of time exercising at the gym. Later, I went to an Unbelievable dinner at Carmen, just one block away from the hotel, I wish I had discovered it earlier.

Everything I ate at Carmen was just outstanding. I made a meal of their tacos coreanos appetizer, Korean Tacos, kind of a fusion food with beef, spicy “kimchee”, a yogurt sauce, and a flat pancake-like shell with scallions. The picture made it look like a total mess so I haven’t included it, but the dish was one of the best tasting things i’ve ever had. For dessert, what you can see in the picture, I had the Strawberrys and Cream, a strawberry soup with a little angle food cupcake, a strawberry, some ice cream made with condensed milk, and some strawberry chimmichuri made with basil (under the ice cream). It was absolutely incredible. The thing on top is a candied leaf of some sort which I did not eat.

The chefs also brought me some little bite sized tasters of different things, a shot of pumpkin and pear soup, a creamy shrimp ceviche, a ball of fried fish, some rare seared tuna with a mango salad, and a little banana bread with white chocolate cream and Parsley sauce!

Well now I’m all packed, See you from Panama City!

Love, Annie

One Response to “Goodbye Medellin”

  1. Bubbie marlene Says:

    I met a lady who lives at bubba’s nursing home who is from Medelli and is well dressed and seems so nice but she only speaks Spanish so it is hard to converse. The food always looks so good you might think a new dream job as food editor for the NY Times although you have to see so many food places it must not be good for weight control. Enjoy Panama and look into wall hangings for your apartment I think they may be expensive but be good to yourself as you deserve it and it will be a remeberence if there is one you like. Love you


Leave a Reply

