Bogota Monday!

August 13, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

Today was a very productive day. I woke up early, made some phone calls, and headed out to work. This picture was from yesterday at the top of the mountain. I’m standing at the church looking out. Today, by the time I ate lunch at around 3 PM, I was extremely hungry and had a horrible headache coming on.

I get these headaches every once in a while, and today was definitely the day for one. When my head hurts like this, it’s hard to look at people directly so I feel like people think I’m suspicious or something because I’m looking at them (or not looking at them) weirdly. It’s hard to focus on one thing like someone’s eyes. For lunch, I had ceviche, plantain chips, and flan. Great, not lima-delicious, It was still delicious though in part because I was so hungry. Also the server was really nice.

I thought that eating would make the headache go away but it didn’t. This third picture is of a museum of Emeralds I went to yesterday because the driver suggested it. (Why not!). This is a little station where you learn how to cut and polish the emeralds. I think the driver may be friends with the people in the emerald museum/store next to it and wanted me to buy something. There were some nice earrings but too expensive and I felt a little pressure which I didn’t love. 

This fourth picture os of the commercial centre area from today. I tried to walk around the area of the lunch spot and some malls a little more, but the pavement on the sidewalk had a swirly design on it and was messing with my eyes and head so I decided to call it quits. I got a taxi from a nearby hotel. The fifth picture is a pretty garden shop from my first day here.

When I got back to my hotel, they saw I was in pretty bad shape and gave me some aspirin which helped a bit. The staff here are really nice. I think the night sleep will be best. But not before I catch up on Breaking Bad!

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

