Bonjour Bogota

August 12, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

It’s been an exciting past two days! Yesterday, I packed up and checked out of the hotel in Lima. My flight didn’t leave until the evening, so I had a bit of time to chill out before going to the airport. I went back to Maido, the Japanese restaurant, and enjoyed one last ceviche, and then worked on my computer at the hotel lobby.

The flight was delayed due to a voluntary delay be the crew but we ended up getting into Bogota only about a half hour behind schedule, at about 11:40 PM. I was nervous about being able to find a taxi, but that was unnecessary nervousness, there were plenty!

I’m very happy about the hotel. I’m on the 10th floor and the room is big. This morning, I slept late, and at about 11 AM went out for a walk to Usaquen, a cool colonial area near my hotel with some awesome restaurants and some really fantastic stores with clothing and bags. On the way to Usaquen, I stopped for a delicious coffee.

The first picture in this post shows a park near (or in) Usaquen in a residential neighborhood. I hung out there for a little and played with the doggies. That golden retriever is named Fiona. ūüôā

I ate lunch (Brunch) at a cool place called Bistronomy by Rausch (a solid burger, which was very welcome after a week of ceviche), and then regrouped at the hotel. In the afternoon, I went to the Museo de Oro (the Museum of Gold), a museum all about ancient metals. It was pretty awesome. I was expecting more Jewelry, bracelets and necklaces. There were a lot of breastplates and earrings and nose rings!

After that, I went to the Bolivar square (2nd picture), and walked around Candeliria (Old Bogota), another colonial area. The third picture is come cool graffiti in Candelaria.

For dinner, I wasn’t hungry at all for some reason, so I just went to the nearby market and got some yogurt. I was going to go out but then I walked outside of the hotel and thought wait a second, i’m not up for this at all tonight. I’m a little lonely and homesick. I also don’t feel that much pressure to go out every night. I think it’s important for travel¬†endurance¬†to take it easy once in a while.

I haven’t noticed the altitude too much, except for when I ran across the street this morning and was suddenly breathing really hard. I also got a little headache this afternoon, but I get headaches often so that could have been from a variety of factors.

Tomorrow, I’m going to rent a bicycle. I guess on Sundays they close a bunch of the main avenues around my hotel for people to bike. At least I think that’s what the concierge said. If it’s true that will be so awesome! And I’d also like to do the cable car that takes you to the top of Monserrate. There are great views from up there!

Hope you are doing great!

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

