Sunday in Lima

August 5, 2012

Hola Familia y Amigos,

I hope you are doing well. Today was a great day off in Lima. I haven’t had a proper Sunday off yet because last Sunday I was traveling and definitely made the most of it. First I got up early. After a nice breakfast of some banana in yogurt and grain at the hotel, I headed out for my first exploratory walk around Miraflores neighborhood.

I saw a very active festival going on in the main square of Miraflores. There was dancing, hopscotch, rollerblading, etc. I also came across a handicrafts fair that was going on this week, and today was the last day of the weeklong fair, so I got some Alpaca hats. I bargained successfully with the vendors so that was cool! My walk also took me to the cliffs along the coast. I walked along the boardwalk for a while and into Lovers park, which was a little sad to be in without any lover, but it was alright. I think Sunday was a good day to explore because all the residents are out and about.

After some hours of walking, I sat down for lunch at a sandwich shop. They made me a vegetarian sandwich which I was really happy about. It was stuffed with veggies, tomato, lettuce, onion, cilantro, and avocado on a light on the inside, crispy on the outside roll. I think the store’s specialty is meats but I was not up for that at the moment.  After lunch, I decided to explore the old historic part of Lima, a 20-30 minute taxi ride away. It was much better to go there on a Sunday when there is less traffic — apparently the traffic can get pretty crazy. My first stop was the catacombs of San Francisco.

Lima has some awesome architecture. I went into the Gastronomy museum (I actually found it because it was a cool salmon colored building, and learned about Peruvian food. I also found myself at yet another festival, this one had some performers but the crowds were so big around the performers that I could only hear them and not see.

When I was done walking around and had had enough of historic Peru for one day, I caught a taxi back to the hotel and headed to the gym to work out for a while and watch the Olympics.

After that, I had my first Peruvian Pisco Sour (a very refreshing after-workout drink) and I think Peruvian Pisco Sours are better than Chilean pisco sours because they are less sweet. There is kind of a rivalry between Peru and Chile over their Pisco and Pisco Sours. Peruvians believe they invented it … and ceviche according to one of my drivers. There is even a law that you can’t bring Chilean Pisco into Peru.

For dinner, I went to  a seafood restaurant and had more ceviche. This time it was flounder ceviche, amazing. The last picture is out of order, it should be the first — this is the Sunday morning dancing I described earlier.

Now it’s bed time, I’m looking forward to a productive working day tomorrow.

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

