Friday in Lumut

May 25, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

Today was my first full day in Lumut.

I woke up relatively early and worked a full day. I finished my last supermarket of the trip, which is always Extremely exciting. In the late afternoon, I came back to the hotel and went for a swim in the ocean.

You’re not really supposed to swim in the ocean (Strait of Malacca) because there are jellyfish, but I read a sign that says that they are mostly there from June to September (or maybe September to January?) It was September and a J-month.

So, since it’s still May, not in the major jellyfish season, I took a cautious dip. I really wanted to swim and hate pools. The water was warm and I wish there weren’t jellyfish so I could swim longer and without fear. The hotel manager said that the jellyfish situation is a huge setback for the hotel.

I had dinner with one of the apartment sales managers at the hotel and it was nice, and even though it’s extremely buggy here (the worst mosquitos of the trip) and we ate near the water, I didn’t get any (more) bites. I’ve been really cautious with the bug spray. She probably thought I smelled a little silly.

That’s all. Tomorrow I think I’ll go to Pangkor Island and rent a bike.

Love, Annie

2 Responses to “Friday in Lumut”


  1. very brave of you to swim with the jelly fish, there use to be many in the month of May in the Bahamas but they did not bite so you could swim but not fun, Looking forward to seeing you, sorry I missed your call. Love you so much


Leave a Reply

