Caves and Cave Temples around Ipoh (mostly pictures!)

May 20, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

Today for my day off I went to explore some caves, as that is the thing to do here. I went to three cave temples and one just cave. Here are some pictures from the day.

The temples had so many stairs (that I had to climb… when am I going to come back here) so when I came back to the hotel my legs were shaking.

The pictures are out of order and I can’t seem to get them in order so I’ll just describe them as they show up:

1. Gardens outside of Kek Look Tong, my favorite temple.

2. Climbing up to the top of the last temple of the day. the Perak temple? Perulak? Perak is the name of the state of Malaysia I’m currently in.

3. Incense at the first temple.

4. Outside of Gua Tempurung.

5. View from the top of the third temple, from the top of all those stairs from the Second photo.

6. The entrance of Gua Tempurung from the inside.

7. Inside of Kek Look Tong.

8. My tour group inside of the “wind tunnel” of Gua Tempurung.

9. Self shot from inside of Gua Tempurung.

By the way, I’ve been looking up some more words that come up here often. “Jalan” does indeed mean “road.” “Bandar” as in Bandar Seri Begawan, means “City.” “Kuala” as in Kuala Lumpur or Belait means “Estuary” according to Google’s translator. “Lemak” as in my favorite dish Nasi Lemak that coconut rice, means “Fat.” Great.

Looking forward to a productive work day tomorrow.

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

