Hello Ipoh!

May 19, 2012

Hi Family and Friends,

Hope you are having a nice weekend. This morning, I slept late and checked out of the hotel.

After getting a bubble tea (I’m obsessed with those now) for breakfast, I went to the train station to take the train to Ipoh! Ipoh is three hours north of Kuala Lumpur by car, and about two hours by train. However, with all the waiting and getting to the station early, it would have been quicker by car. I did save my company about 100 dollars though!

The “KL Sentral” station was gross (worst bathrooms of the trip) but the train itself was pretty nice. It was the ETS, electronic train and all in all an interesting experience. I watched a movie with Katherine Heigl and a really nice looking actor and they get put in charge of taking care of their friends’ baby. It had subtitles which was good because there was no sound and I was a little disappointed that they didn’t even show kissing on the screen! But not surprised.

After arriving in Ipoh, I checked into the hotel which is a small and beautiful, and went for a sweaty afternoon walk. The pictures are from the walk. I explored some of the areas I’ll be surveying come Monday. By the way, there’s a Starbucks here. For dinner, I had a beautiful garden salad and sea bass. YUM. Tomorrow is another day off so I’m going to try to explore some caves.

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

