Work and Fun Tuesday in KL

May 15, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

Today was another great day in Kuala Lumpur. I had a meeting and worked in the morning, and in the afternoon, went to do some touristy things.

First, I went to the Islamic Arts museum, which was pretty cool. I tried to take the metro there. I made it most of the way (got off at the right stop!) and then got lost walking so had to take a taxi. I love how the art doesn’t have people as the subjects, rather writing/calligraphy, flowers, sweet designs. The museum was set up in a really neat way.

(The second picture shows a cool view of Kuala Lumpur from the old railway station. I’m standing on a bridge above it.)

The museum had exhibits on art of Islam in different regions (India, China, Malaysia and SE Asia, Central Asia) and also exhibits on specific things (textiles, jewelry, maps, woodwork, ceramics, architecture, etc).

There was a whole part of the exhibit devoted to the different types of calligraphy. I love that stuff. After the museum, I went to the National Mosque that was nearby. Here I am at the Mosque.

After the Mosque, I walked over to the Central Market area. I got lost again so I had to take another short taxi ride. I thought the central market was fine, and then walked to nearby China Town. This is Petaling Street.

I think it’s supposed to me much cooler at night. I got very tired and hungry at this point, so after Petaling street, I went back to the hotel to relax and do some more work. Dinner was Nasi Lemak again because I can’t get enough of it. Now, It’s time for the new Gossip Girl and a good night sleep.

I hope you are doing well!

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

